Historic Preservation Awards

Historic Preservation Awards

“…To Educate, Reward, and Inspire”

Nominations Accepted From the Public

In 1991, the Hickory Landmarks Society began recognizing individuals and groups in Hickory who have helped save or maintain their landmark properties and as a result helped preserve the cultural heritage and character of our community. To date more than 60 owners and their structures, plus three individuals, have been honored.    

The purpose of these awards is “to educate, reward, and inspire” citizens to save and preserve the built environment of Hickory’s past.  Anyone can nominate a structure, but a nomination does not guarantee an award. A panel of judges studies the nominations and makes decisions based on certain criteria.    

There are three categories of awards: residential, commercial, and public structure.  A three-judge panel of historic preservation experts reviews all nominations and grants awards. Recipients are then notified and recognized at the Hickory Landmarks Society’s annual membership meeting each June. 

We sincerely thank those who submit nominations.

Click here for the online nomination form 

Click here for standards and printable form.

Award Winners (1991 – 2018) : Owners and Properties

There were no nominations for awards in 2020.  Nominations may be made throughout the year.  Next scheduled awards presentation: June 2021.

We sincerely thank those who submitted nominations.

       Alan and Starry Jones                                       Perry-Bolick House (1930)

      Stuart and Katherine Mull                       Henderson-Blackwelder House (1913)